KBUN SportsUpdate 10/5/17

The Jacks are 8-5 and will be back at it tonight hosting 10-1 Park Rapids at 7:30. You’ll hear it on the LJRN beginning with Lumberjacks Live at 7:15 on KBUN-FM 104.5 and kbunsportsradio.com.

Bemidji finished the year 19-2 and are back in Grand Forks today for the Section 8AA North Team tournament. The Jacks were seeded 2nd behind Brainerd and will open at 10am against Fergus Falls. If they win, they’ll move on to a semifinal at 4pm. Top 2 teams will advance to the Section tournament at Sartell next Friday. This Friday and Saturday, the North Sub Section Individual tournament will be held in Grand Forks.

The Jacks compete at the 14 team Perham Invitational at Arvig Park.

8-4 Bemidji is back at it tonight under the lights at Chet Anderson Stadium hosting Detroit Lakes 7pm. It’s the Jacks home finale. They have two more on the road after this one.

The Bemidji State Mens Hockey team has 12 members named to the All American Scholars team. To earn a spot, players must have a GPA of 3.6 or better and have played in at least 40 percent of their team’s games. Bemidji State was 2nd in the WCHA and tied for 5th in the nation. Justin Baudry, Kyle Bauman, Dan Billett, Dillon Eichstadt, Brendan Harms, Jordan Heller, Tommy Muck, Charlie O’Connor, T.J. Roo, Hampus Sjodahl, Mike Soucier and Zach Whitecloud all earned spots on the scholars squad. The Beavers had a team GPA of 3.48, which was best Of all BSU teams.

The 3-2 BSU Football team will be hosting U-Mary in the annual Lions Vision Awareness Game Saturday at 1pm. In addition to the Lions events, the Beavers will honor Dr. Mark Shanfeld and the 10 recipients of the Shanfeld-Jahner Scholarship. A decade ago, Dr. Shanfeld endowed a scholarship in honor of long time Beaver Coach Rich Jahner. As the award states: “The Jahner/Shanfeld scholarship criteria is based on character; awarded to a player who represents the program, university, alumni and community in an exemplary manner. As a loyal member of the BSU coaching staff, Coach Jahner passionately taught life lessons through the sport of football and inspired players to achieve greatness on and off the playing field. This scholarship is awarded annually to a BSU football player who embodies that same passion, loyalty and dedication to the BSU football program.” In addition to honoring Dr. Shanfeld, the 10 scholarship winners will serve as honorary captains. They are:
2017 E.J. Olszewski
2016 Christian Lunde
2015 Jake Krause
2014 Damon Benham
2013 Jordan Oien
2012 Charlie Hrdlicka
2011 Troy Dale
2010 Jake Schmidt
2009 Alex Moch
2008 Spencer Wagner

Former Lumberjack quarterback James Hendricks was recruited to NDSU as a quarterback. But as one of the nation’s premier teams, they have no shortage of blue chip quarterbacks. So to get some playing time, James met with coaches after last season and switched to safety. It seems to be a good move, as he has seen the field a lot this year and is tied for the team lead in interceptions with 3. There’s a great feature on James in the Fargo Forum. You can read it on their website…inforum.com/sports.

Nevis at Pequot Lakes
Northome/Kelliher at Littlefork-Big Falls
NCE/U-H at Win-E-Mac
Fosston at Waubun
Pine River-Backus at Cass Lake-Bena
Walker-Hackensack-Akeley at Northland
Menahga hosts Sebeka
Bagley hosts Lake Park-Audobon
Clearbrook-Gonvick hosts RLCC


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s