KBUN SportsBlog 11/3/17

Bemidji State is 15-0-3 on the year and off to the NSIC semifinals today. They’ll face #3 Augustana in Mankato at 11am, while top seed Mankato battles U-Mary at 2pm.

The Beavers swept the 2017 NSIC awards. Rachael Norton was named Offensive Player of the Year, Miranda Famestad was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year, Catherine Arneson earned Goaltender of the Year, Allyson Smith got the Freshman of the Year nod and Jim Stone was named Coach of the Year.
In addition, BSU had seven on the All-NSIC Teams. Arneson, Famestad, Norton and Raquel Thelen were selected to the First Team, while Dani Nelson, Tia Neuharth and Smith earned a spot on the Second Team. With seven players recognized for All-NSIC honors, the 2017 team matches a program record set in 2016.
Norton led all NSIC players in points (38), goals (14), points per game, goals per game, assists, assists per game and game-winning goals (6). She finished the regular season among the top 10 in all of Division II in assists per game, while she was among the top 20 in both points and goals. In NSIC play, she posted a league-high 33 points, 12 goals and nine assists, while she was third with five game-winning goals.
Famestad anchored a BSU defensive unit that surrendered just nine goals overall and seven goals in league play to rank second in the NSIC. She led a unit that posted 11 shutouts in 18 matches, which included a 377:18 shutout streak to open the season.
Arneson is the first BSU student-athlete to be named as the league’s top goaltender since the NSIC started recognizing the award in 2013. A Second-Team pick a year ago, her 2017 First-Team award marks the first of her career. She is 8-0-2 in 12 appearances and 10 starts and 1,034 minutes in 2017. She ranked among the nation’s top goaltenders in goals against average and save percentage all season and finished the regular season fourth in save percentage (.913) and sixth in the country with a goals against average of .381. The senior opened the season with a 626:41 shutout streak, not allowing her first goal until her eighth appearance of the year.
Smith is the first freshman at BSU to earn the NSIC’s Freshman/Newcomer of the Year Award. The rookie from Brainerd, Minn., is second on the team with nine goals, including two game-winners, nine assists and 27 points. She was second in the league with nine assists, third in the NSIC in points (27), Smith was also named to the All-NSIC Second Team.
Thelen earned a spot on the All-NSIC First Team to cap her senior year. She was also a First Team selection in 2016 and earned Third-Team honors following the 2014 season.
Stone, who is in his 16th season at BSU, earns his third NSIC Coach of the Year Award. He also received the award following the 2005 and 2016 seasons. Stone has led the 2017 Beavers to their ninth consecutive appearance in the NSIC Tournament and its fifth berth into the semifinal round while accumulating a program-best 12 NSIC victories and setting a BSU all-time record with 15 wins and counting. The Beavers led the NSIC in points (135) and points per game (7.50), goals per game (2.50), assists (45) and assists per game (2.50) while it tied Minnesota State for total goals (45). Surrendering only nine goals, the 2017 Beavers ranked second in the NSIC in goals allowed and goals against average (0.48), which included a program, record 11 shutouts.

Section 6-9man Championship at Fargodome…
#1 Nevis 20, #2 NCE/U-H 18
The Tigers avenged their only loss of the year by edging the Norman County East/Ulen-Hitterdal Titans be 2. The Tigers jumped out to a 14-0 lead on two Jack DeWulf touchdowns. The QB ran for a 61 yard TD, then hit Zach Henry on the 2 point conversion. Then he ran for a 52 yard touchdown. But the Titans came back with a pair of 2nd quarter touchdowns and it was 14-12 at the half. Nevis scored a 3rd quarter touchdown on a 34 yard run and again NCE/U-H got it within 2 with a 4th quarter touchdown. The Tiger defense forced a couple of turnovers to maintain the lead and win the Section championship.

The Tigers are now 9-1 headed into the State Quarterfinal a week from today at Chet Anderson Stadium in Bemidji. Nevis will face the Section 7 winner. Northwoods and Cook County are playing for the Section Championship today at 4:45 in Esko. Gametime next Friday night will be 8pm. It will be a state tourney doubleheader at the Chet next Friday. At 5:30, Section 8 champ Stephen-Argyle will face the Section 5 champion. That game will be at Esko tonight at 7:30 between Cromwell and Wrenshall.

Bemidji State will be back at it tonight and tomorrow night at Alaska-Fairbanks. Gametime is 10:07 both nights. The Beavers are 3-0-1 on they year…1-0-1-1 for 5 points in WCHA play.

6-3 Bemidji State will wrap up the home schedule tomorrow, hosting St. Cloud State at 1pm. The Beavers look to get back to their winning ways after their 5 game winning streak was snapped last Thursday by UMD.

Sadie Hamrin and Kayla Dewitt will be competing for the Lumberjack girls at the State Cross Country Meet tomorrow at St. Olaf College in Northfield. Soren Dybing & Riley Berg will be running in the boys race. Sadie won the Section championship, while Dewitt, Dybing and Berg earned at large bids.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s